British Columbia Plant Hardiness Climate Zones

Coastal southern British Columbia has a mild, rainy oceanic climate, some far southern parts of which are warm-summer Mediterranean. Due to the blocking presence of successive mountain ranges, the climate of the interior of the province is semi-arid. The annual mean temperature in the most populated areas of the province is up to 12 °C (54 °F), the mildest anywhere in Canada. Winters are generally severe in the Northern Interior, but even there milder air can penetrate far inland. While winters are very wet, coastal areas are generally milder and dry during summer under the influence of stable anti-cyclonic high pressure. Southern Interior valleys are hot in summer; for example in Osoyoos the July maximum temperature averages 31.7 °C (89 °F) the hottest month of any place in Canada, this hot weather sometimes spreads towards the coast or to the far north of the province. Now you can click on that zone number near your city name in this table to find the most common and best growing zone-compatible fruit trees, vegetables, herbs, ornamentals and flowers in each area of British Columbia BC in Canada.

100 Mile House Zone 4b
Abbotsford Zone 8b
Agassiz Zone 8b
Aiyansh Zone 6a
Alexandria Zone 5a
Alice Arm Zone 6b
Alliford Bay Zone 9a
Allison Harbour Zone 9b
Anyox Zone 7a
Armstrong Zone 5b
Arrandale Zone 7b
Atlin Zone 3b
Atnarko Zone 7a
Inklin Zone 3a
Invermere Zone 4b
Isle Pierre Zone 4b
Qualicum Beach Zone 8b
Quathiaski Cove Zone 9a
Queen Charlotte Zone 9a
Quesnel Zone 4b
Babine Zone 3b
Beament Zone 5a
Bear Lake Zone 4b
Beaverley Zone 4a
Bednesti Zone 4b
Bella Bella Zone 9a
Bella Coola Zone 7b
Ben-My-Chree Zone 3b
Black Creek Zone 4b
Bliss Landing Zone 9a
Blubber Bay Zone 9a
Bold Point Zone 9a
Brackendale Zone 8b
Bulkley Canyon Zone 5a
Burnaby Zone 8b
Burns Lake Zone 4a
Butedale Zone 8a
Jackson Bay Zone 9a
Jacksons Landing Zone 4b
Jedway Zone 9b
Jeune Landing Zone 9a
Refuge Bay Zone 8a
Revelstoke Zone 6a
Richmond Zone 8b
Roberts Creek Zone 9a
Rose Harbour Zone 9b
Rossland Zone 6b
Rosswood Zone 6a
Roy Zone 9a
Cache Creek Zone 5b
Campbell Island Zone 9a
Campbell River Zone 8b
Caribou Hide Zone 5a
Carnaby Zone 5a
Castlegar Zone 7b
Cedarvale Zone 6b
Central Saanich Zone 9a
Chee House Zone 2a
Chemainus Zone 9a
Chetwynd Zone 4a
Chief Lake Zone 4b
Chilliwack Zone 8b
Church House Zone 9a
Chutine Landing Zone 4b
Claxton Zone 8a
Clearwater Zone 5b
Colleymount Zone 4b
Colwood Zone 9a
Comox Zone 9a
Copper River Zone 7a
Coquitlam Zone 8b
Cortes Bay Zone 9a
Courtenay Zone 9a
Cracroft Zone 9a
Cranbrook Zone 6a
Creston Zone 7a
Crofton Zone 9a
Cumberland Zone 8a
Kamloops Zone 6a
Keithley Creek Zone 4b
Kelowna Zone 7a
Kemano Zone 7a
Kimberley Zone 5b
Kincolith Zone 7b
Kingcome Inlet Zone 9a
Kisgegas Zone 5a
Kispiox Zone 5a
Kitimat Zone 7b
Kitimat Mission Zone 7a
Kitwanga Zone 5a
Klemtu Zone 9a
Knight Inlet Zone 9a
Kuldo Zone 5a
Saanich Zone 9a
Salmo Zone 7a
Salmon Arm Zone 6a
Salmon Valley Zone 4b
Sandspit Zone 9a
Scotia Bay Zone 3b
Seaton Zone 5a
Sechelt Zone 9b
Sheslay Zone 4a
Sicamous Zone 6b
Sidney Zone 9a
Simoom Sound Zone 9a
Skidegate Zone 9a
Smithers Zone 4b
Snake River Zone 3a
Soda Creek Zone 5b
Sooke Zone 9a
Sparwood Zone 5a
Springhouse Zone 5a
Squamish Zone 8b
Squaw Creek Zone 3b
Steveston Zone 8b
Stewart Zone 7a
Strathnaver Zone 4b
Streatham Zone 4b
Stuie Zone 7a
Sullivan Bay Zone 9a
Summerland Zone 7a
Summit Lake Zone 4b
Surf Inlet Zone 8b
Surprise Zone 3b
Surrey Zone 8b
Dawson Creek Zone 3a
Dease Lake Zone 3a
Defot Zone 3a
Delta Zone 8b
District of North Vancouver Zone 8b
Duncan Zone 8b
Ladner Zone 8b
Ladysmith Zone 8b
Lake Country Zone 7a
Lake Cowichan Zone 8b
Lakelse Zone 7a
Laketon Zone 3a
Langdale Zone 9a
Langford Zone 9a
Langley Zone 8b
Langley Township Zone 8b
Lantzville Zone 9a
Lawnhill Zone 9a
Lemieux Zone 3a
Lillooet Zone 6b
Lily Lake Zone 4a
Lockeport Zone 9a
Logan Lake Zone 5a
Lower Post Zone 2a
Lund Zone 9a
Tachie Zone 4a
Takla Landing Zone 4a
Taku Zone 3b
Tatalrose Zone 4b
Taylor Zone 3b
Teepee Zone 3b
Telegraph Creek Zone 4b
Terrace Zone 7a
Thurlow Zone 9a
Tlell Zone 9a
Toad River Post Zone 3a
Topley Zone 4b
Trail Zone 7a
Tsawwassen Zone 9a
Tulsequah Zone 3b
Tumbler Ridge Zone 4a
Eagle Harbour Zone 8b
East Pine Zone 4a
Elkford Zone 4b
Endako Zone 4a
Enderby Zone 5b
Engineer Zone 3b
Esquimalt Zone 9a
Exstew Zone 7a
Macalister Zone 5a
Mackenzie Zone 4a
Maple Ridge Zone 8b
Margaret Bay Zone 9b
Marilla Zone 4b
Masset Zone 8b
McConnell Creek Zone 4b
McDame Zone 3a
Merritt Zone 5b
Metchosin Zone 9a
Metlakatla Zone 8a
Middle River Village Zone 4b
Minstrel Island Zone 9a
Miocene Zone 4b
Mission Zone 8b
Moricetown Zone 5a
Mud River Zone 4b
Muskwa Zone 3a
Usk Zone 7a
Fellers Heights Zone 3a
Fernie Zone 5a
Fishermans Cove Zone 8b
Fontas Zone 3a
Fort Fraser Zone 4a
Fort Halkett Zone 2a
Fort Nelson Zone 3a
Fort Saint James Zone 4a
Fort St. John Zone 3b
Fowler Zone 5b
Fraser Zone 4a
Fraser Lake Zone 4a
Nadina River Zone 5a
Nadu Zone 9a
Nahlin Zone 3b
Nakina Zone 3a
Nakusp Zone 7a
Namu Zone 9a
Nanaimo Zone 8b
Nass Harbour Zone 7b
Nazko Zone 4a
Nelson Zone 7a
Nelson Forks Zone 3b
New Bella Bella Zone 9a
New Hazelton Zone 5a
New Westminster Zone 8b
Newgate Zone 5a
Nig Creek Zone 3a
Nodales Zone 9a
Noralee Zone 4b
North Cowichan Zone 8b
North Delta Zone 8b
North Saanich Zone 9a
North Vancouver Zone 8b
Valemount Zone 3b
Vancouver Zone 8b
Vanderhoof Zone 4a
Vernon Zone 6b
Victoria Zone 9a
View Royal Zone 9a
Gabriola Zone 9a
Galbraith Zone 3a
Ganges Zone 9a
Germansen Landing Zone 3a
Gibsons Zone 9a
Gitaus Zone 7a
Gitwinksihlkw Zone 6a
Gleneagles Zone 9a
Glenora Zone 4b
Golden Zone 4b
Grand Forks Zone 6a
Granthams Landing Zone 9a
Grassy Plains Zone 4b
Greenwood Zone 5b
Oak Bay Zone 9b
Ocean Falls Zone 8b
Ochiltree Zone 4b
Old Fort Zone 4a
Old Hogem Zone 4a
Oliver Zone 7b
Oona River Zone 8a
Ootsa Lake Zone 5a
Osland Zone 8a
Osoyoos Zone 7b
Wadhams Zone 9a
Ware Zone 3b
Watson Island Zone 8a
West Kelowna Zone 7a
West Vancouver Zone 8b
Whistler Zone 7a
White Rock Zone 9a
Whytecliff Zone 9a
Williams Lake Zone 5b
Wistaria Zone 4b
Woodcock Zone 5b
Woodpecker Zone 4b
Wright Zone 4b
Hale Zone 3b
Halfmoon Bay Zone 9b
Hanceville Zone 4b
Hartley Bay Zone 8b
Haysport Zone 8a
Hazelton Zone 5a
Heriot Bay Zone 8b
Hixon Zone 4b
Hope Zone 7b
Hopkins Landing Zone 9a
Horsefly Zone 4b
Houston Zone 5a
Hudson's Hope Zone 3b
Hunts Inlet Zone 8a
Hydraulic Zone 4b
Hyland Post Zone 5a
Pacific Zone 6b
Pacofi Zone 9a
Parksville Zone 8b
Peachland Zone 7b
Penticton Zone 7b
Pike Zone 3b
Pinchi Zone 4a
Pine Valley Zone 3b
Pitt Meadows Zone 8b
Port Alberni Zone 8b
Port Clements Zone 9a
Port Coquitlam Zone 8b
Port Edward Zone 8a
Port Essington Zone 8a
Port Hardy Zone 9a
Port Mann Zone 8b
Port McNeill Zone 9a
Port Mellon Zone 9a
Port Moody Zone 8b
Port Neville Zone 8b
Port Progress Zone 9a
Port Simpson Zone 8a
Porter Zone 3a
Powell River Zone 9a
Prince George Zone 4b
Prince Rupert Zone 8a
Princeton Zone 5b
Punchaw Zone 4a